Do you ever use Google+? Probably not. Google+ is the world’s second largest social network, not because so many people use it, but because so many people have Gmail accounts and everyone with a Gmail account automatically gets a Google + account. It’s kind of like the days when Internet Explorer was the most used browser by far — because it comes with Windows and there are a lot of Windows users. Unlike Internet Explorer which can never be completely extricated from Windows, you can ditch your Google + account and it won’t affect your Gmail account, your email messages, your Gmail contact, chat buddies on Google Talk and/or Gmail. It will remove your Google Profile and your YouTube channel (you’ll be able to view YouTube videos of course). If you don’t use Google+ social network and you don’t care if you have a YouTube channel, then you can go ahead and remove you Google Plus account fairly easily.
Here’s how to do it:
Open your Gmail account and click on your Profile.
When you click on your account picture or icon you’ll see a dropdown like the one above. Click on “Account”.
Next, click on Data tools (see below):
When you click on Data tools you’ll see a menu box like the one below. Click on “Delete Google+ profile and features” :
When click “Delete Google+ profile and features” you’ll see a page listing of everything that will be deleted We suggest you read that over so you know exactly what’s being deleted. Your Gmail account, your email messages, your Gmail contacts and your chat buddies on Google Talk and Gmail chat will NOT be deleted.
You’ll have to check the box labeled: “Required: Yes, I understand that deleting the Google profile for (your account name) can’t be undone and the data I delete can’t be restored.”
If you want to go ahead and get rid of your Google Profile / Google+ account, check the required box and click the button labeled “Remove selected services”. And that’s it. A reminder: Deleting your Google+ account and Google Profile will not affect your Gmail account.