Google Finally Lets You Delete Your Search History

By | May 22, 2021
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 

 

Google Finally Lets You Delete Your Search History

All eyes. All spies. Wise?

While you can clear your cache and your browsing history, deleting your search history has never been an easy option. That’s why when you search for something and later search for something similar, a bunch of suggestions will appear. This, as you might imagine can cause problems if someone else uses your computer.

The following article from Gaming Ideology (So? I’m an eclectic reader!) tells you more about recent changes that Google has made and how to delete your search history – or at least the last 15 minutes of it.

 

Forgot to use Incognito mode? Google finally lets you DELETE your search history

If you forgot to enable incognito mode in Google Chrome before searching the web, don’t worry, Google now has an easy solution. For those of you who don’t know, Incognito Mode is the built-in privacy-focused browser mode in Chrome. While it won’t hide your activity from your ISP (or the websites you visit), your activity will no longer show up in web history or Google predictive search.

Until now, there was no way to delete your searches from Google’s saved browsing history unless you specifically turned on Incognito Mode. While you can remove individual websites from the web history stored in Chrome, searching Google.com would still provide a useful (or, in this case, non-useful) reminder of a previous search query in the future.

So, while it has long been possible to remove engagementrings.com from your history in Chrome, the next person who used the family can start typing ‘engage’ and then be asked that you previously used Google to to (sic)( chase ‘engagement rings’.

Announced at its annual developer conference, known as Google IO, the California company explained that it will now include a quick shortcut to delete the last 15 minutes of searches using its search engine.

So if you suddenly realize you’re looking for birthday gifts without Incognito mode enabled, you can go to the main Google.com page, click your profile icon in the top right corner, select Manage your Google Account, then click “Delete history” in the menu. Simples.

Source

2 thoughts on “Google Finally Lets You Delete Your Search History

  1. Constance Tyler

    I use DuckDuckGo for my search engine. No spies following me around.

    Reply
    1. infoave Post author

      DuckDuckGo is more private than Google -a public outhouse without doors is more private than Google. But don’t let your guard down. The only proof that DuckDuckGo is not tracking you is what they say. And remember there is no privacy on the Internet… just a word to the wise. But assuming you have privacy on the web at all is tantamount to letting your guard down. Your searches are still visible. See this article.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *