Control How Long Google Keeps Your Data with This Setting

By | June 25, 2020
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 

 

Control How Long Google Keeps Your Data with This Setting

Did you know you can tell Google to automatically delete your data every 3 months or every 18 months? You can. And you can also delete your data manually at any time.

To make the changes, log into your Google Account, and click on “Data and Personalization” in the menu on the left. Then click “Web & App Activity” on the right.

Cloudeight Google Account Tip

Next, turn on the Auto-delete feature by clicking on it.

Cloudeight Google Account Tip

Now press the “Choose to delete automatically” button. Then click “Next”.

Cloudeight Google Account Tip

A page will open with three options: “Auto-delete activity older than 3 months (and manually delete any time”), “Auto-delete activity older than 18 months (and manually delete any time)”, and “Don’t auto-delete”. After you make your choice, click the “Next” button at the bottom.

In this example, I want Google to automatically delete my data every 18 months. After I make my choice, Google asks me to confirm on the next page.

Cloudeight Google Account Tip

Keep in mind, when Google stores your data it can you time save time. Google reminds you of this by saying that “what you search, read, and watch can work together to help you get things done faster, discover new content, and pick up where you left off,” as an explanation for why you might want to store your data longer…”

For some time now, Google has allowed users to pause data collection for Web & App Activity completely. If you have that feature enabled, you won’t have any data for Google to delete. But it still might be a good idea to turn on the automatic deletion of your data every 3 or 18 months – whichever works best for you – just in case.

2 thoughts on “Control How Long Google Keeps Your Data with This Setting

  1. Arline Ventullo

    If you chose this does it just delete from your Inbox and Trash or from all folders? Thank you.

    Reply
    1. infoave Post author

      This does not affect your email, it affects only the information Google stores about you. It does not delete your files.

      Reply

Leave a Reply to infoave Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *